Scheduled Tribes

The News

Four tribes, including those from Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, and Chhattisgarh, were added to the list of Scheduled Tribes (ST) by the Union Cabinet, which was presided over by the Prime Minister.

Included Tribes in the ST category list
  1. Hattee community of the Trans-Giri region of Himachal Pradesh's Sirmaur district
  • The most recent Cabinet decision accorded the Hattee people of the Trans-Giri region of Himachal Pradesh's Sirmaur district the designation of ST.
  • After rejecting earlier requests in 1995, 2006, and 2017, the Registrar General of India approved the plea for the Hattee community to receive ST classification following the Cabinet's consent.
  1. Narikoravan and Kurivikkaran community - Tamil Nadu
  2. Binjhia in Chhattisgarh
  • In Jharkhand and Odisha, but not in Chhattisgarh, Binjhia were designated as a ST.
  1. Gond community residing in 13 districts of Uttar Pradesh
  • A request to move the Gond community, which resides in 13 districts of Uttar Pradesh, from the Scheduled Caste list to the ST list was approved by the Cabinet.
  • These comprise the five divisions of the Gond community (Dhuria, Nayak, Ojha, Pathari, and Rajgond).
  1. Synonyms for 11 tribes in Chhattisgarh and one tribe in Karnataka included in the list
  • so that persons who use different spellings and pronunciations won't be excluded from beneficiary programmes.
  • The Kadu Kuruba tribe in Karnataka has been given official status as "Betta-Kuruba" by the Cabinet.
  • The Cabinet in Chhattisgarh adopted the following synonyms for tribes:
  • Among others, there are Bharia (other versions include Bhumia and Bhuyian), Gadhwa (Gadwa), Dhanwar (Dhanawar, Dhanuwar), Nagesia (Nagasia, Kisan), and Pondh (Pond).
About: Scheduled Tribes

The Scheduled Tribes make up 104 million people, or 8.6 percent of the population of the nation, according to the 2011 Census.

The UTs of Chandigarh, Delhi, and Puducherry, as well as the States of Haryana and Punjab, have not designated any community as a Scheduled Tribe.

Following the division of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, the Government of India established the Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

A three-pronged strategy of social empowerment, economic empowerment, and social justice is being used to achieve the Plan's goal of empowering the indigenous people, just as it was for the Scheduled Castes.

According to Article 342, some tribal communities, sections of tribes, or groupings within tribes are considered Scheduled Tribes with reference to that State or UT.

The list of Scheduled Tribes is made public for each State and Union Territory in accordance with these regulations.

These listings are only applicable inside the boundaries of that State or UT.

An area that has been designated as a Scheduled Tribe in one State need not also be so in another.

A community may be added to the Scheduled Tribe list at any time.

Criteria/Procedure for Inclusion in ST

The following criteria are currently used to define a community as a Scheduled Tribe:

Primitive qualities, a unique culture, remoteness from other people geographically, reluctance to interact with the community at large, and backwardness.

But the Constitution doesn't explicitly state what these standards are.

Tribal governments' respective State governments' recommendations are the first step in the process of adding tribes to the ST list.

The Registrar General of India must then approve these proposals once they are given to the Tribal Affairs Ministry for assessment.

Before the list is given to the Cabinet for a final decision, the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes must first approve it.


Source: The Hindu

Posted by V.P.Nimbalkar on 15th Sep 2022