Sub-Categorisation Panel


    • President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday appointed a commission to examine the sub-categorisation of Other Backward Classes (OBCs) to ensure that the more backward among the communities can access the benefits of reservation.
    • The five-member panel will be headed by retired Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court G. Rohini. 


    • The Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment said in a statement, “Sub-categorisation of the OBCs will ensure that the more backward among the OBC communities can also access the benefits of reservation for educational institutions and government jobs.”

Terms of reference



    • The terms of reference of the commission are to
      • examine the extent of inequitable distribution of benefits of reservation among the castes or communities included in the broad category of OBC with reference to such classes included in the Central list
      •  to work out the mechanism for sub- categorisation. 


Appointment of a Commission to investigate the conditions of backward classes.

  1.  The President may by order appoint a Commission consisting of such persons as he thinks fit to investigate the conditions of socially and educationally backward classes within the territory of India and the difficulties under which they labour and to make recommendations as to the steps that should be taken by the Union or any State to remove such difficulties and to improve their condition and as to the grants that should be made for the purpose by the Union or any State the conditions subject to which such grants should be made, and the order appointing such Commission shall define the procedure to be followed by the Commission
  2. A Commission so appointed shall investigate the matters referred to them and present to the President a report setting out the facts as found by them and making such recommendations as they think proper
  3.  The President shall cause a copy of the report so presented together with a memorandum explaining the action taken thereon to be laid before each House of Parliament.

Posted by Jawwad Kazi on 3rd Oct 2017